AMMA Mining Oil and Gas Jobs Home | Blog | AMMA | Contact Us
Mining Jobs
Mining & MetalsOil, Gas & EnergyConstructionLife in AustraliaCareer ResourcesTraining & Development

You are here: Home /
SHARE
RSS FEEDS
Get our blog delivered to your inbox


Recent Blog Posts

Home building boom could increase volume to record heights
Victoria gas project completes seismic survey
Safety In Action conference takes place in Sydney in September
Northern Territory leads on construction work
Woomera Prohibited Area in SA opens doors to mining industry

Post Archives

August 2014(8)
July 2014(8)
June 2014(7)
May 2014(9)
April 2014(10)
March 2014(10)
February 2014(9)
January 2014(7)
December 2013(7)
November 2013(12)
October 2013(11)
September 2013(9)
August 2013(14)
July 2013(19)
June 2013(16)
May 2013(12)
April 2013(9)
March 2013(11)
February 2013(12)
January 2013(13)
December 2012(16)
November 2012(22)
October 2012(21)
September 2012(20)
August 2012(25)
July 2012(31)
June 2012(31)
May 2012(31)
April 2012(30)
March 2012(31)
February 2012(29)
January 2012(31)
December 2011(31)
November 2011(30)
October 2011(30)
September 2011(30)
August 2011(3)

Blog Tags

Australian-Life (62)
AWRA (30)
Career-resources (184)
Construction (114)
Diversity (47)
Energy (152)
Job-seekers (436)
Mining (411)
Oil-and-gas (287)
Recruitment (63)
Training-and-Development (117)

Mining Families Rock Getting Rave Reviews

Posted: 15/07/2012 5:00:00 AM by Lainie Anderson, Mining Family Matters co-founder/director
Filed under: Mining, Australian-Life


We’re thrilled to feature guest blogger Lainie Anderson from Mining Family Matters, an excellent website for anyone wanting information about the mining life. She discusses a new book called Mining Families Rock that’s proving to be very popular for people living and working the FIFO life in Australia. Over to Lainie.

Mining Families Rock

“Shows us FIFO families that what we go through every day is totally normal!”

That’s how mining wife Sam felt after reading Mining Families Rock from cover to cover in the first few days of the book’s release Australia-wide.

At Mining Family Matters, we’ve been overwhelmed by the response from media, mining companies and couples since launching the world’s first self-help book for mining families last Tuesday.

MiningFM co-founder/director Alicia Ranford has done more than 40 TV, radio and newspaper interviews and we’ve had orders coming in from across Australia and as far afield as Canada and New Zealand.

Rave reviews

Reviews are starting to come in too, including:
  • “A very user-friendly, easy-to-read book with lots of practical strategies. Much of what is covered would be of tremendous value to any couple where at least one partner works long and/or rotating shifts, regardless of whether they’re working away.” - Colleen Burns, editor of Qld’s Gladstone News Weekly
  • “I love that this book has 60+ chapters. I can read what I'm interested in FIRST ... now reading page 113: "Being Happy is a choice: work at it" ... Great work!”Carolyn Grace, teacher, Adelaide
  • "Just finished the book and think it's informative on so many levels. It shows us FIFO families that what we go through every day is totally normal. This book really covers so much of what we need to know. My husband is back in a few weeks and can't wait to read it. Thanks for such a brilliant site and this great read."Sam, mining wife

At 176 pages, Mining Families Rock is packed with professional advice and practical strategies to help families capitalise on the Australian mining boom without sacrificing the health of their relationships or the happiness of their kids.

We explore everything from the ‘black day’ blues and loneliness on a mine site, to overcoming the challenges of differing libidos in mining relationships and helping the kids (from toddlers to teens) to cope with FIFO and DIDO rosters.

Advice for jobseekers

There’s a bonus section for job seekers too, offering advice on where to start when you’re looking to join the mining boom and what to expect from life on a mine site. Chapters in our careers section include: mine site etiquette; what to pack for your first shift; coping emotionally in the early days of working away; lingo you’ll learn to love; and workplace resilience on a mine site.

mining-families.jpg
Mining Families Rock authors: Alicia Ranford, Lainie Anderson, Angie Willcocks

For more information or to order your copy of Mining Families Rock, click here: http://www.miningfm.com.au/contact-us/mining-families-rock.html

For further information about surviving and thriving as a family unit despite the challenges of FIFO/DIDO and living in isolated mining communities, visit www.miningfm.com.au.

Have you ordered your copy of Mining Family Rocks?

For more industry information:

  • Attend the Australian Uranium and Rare Earths Mining Conference held in Fremantle, WA on 18-19 July 2012.
  • Don’t forget to subscribe to our blog. We’re publishing new information every day about employment in the Australian resource industry.
  • If you’re looking for a job in mining, energy or oil and gas, make sure you visit our industry jobs board where we only advertise real jobs by real employers.


Add your comment

Mining Jobs

Careers and Industry Guide

Mining & Metals
Oil, Gas & Energy
Construction
Alternative Energy
Living & Working in Australia
Career Resources
Training and Development

Blogs
AMMA
Contact Us

Mining Oil and Gas Jobs Blog RSS Feed Mining Oil and Gas Jobs on LinkedIn Mining Oil and Gas Jobs YouTube Mining Oil and Gas Jobs Twitter Mining Oil and Gas Jobs on Facebook

International Association of Employment Web Sites Member
alyka web design perth